Happy Mother’s Day Maa!!!

MOM

Mother – no amount of writing or praising can actually justify the title. Still I would make an attempt to do so because I personally feel I haven’t been able to express how much my mom means to me and I hope I am able to do so by writing it down.  ‘Maa’ as we lovingly  call our mothers in India are nothing less than GOD. Its rightfully said that God couldn’t be everywhere hence mothers were made. On a personal front my mom is my ‘hero’. People say being an house wife is the toughest job in the world but I say being my mom is the toughest. Raising two children is tough enough, ask any mom out there. But to do so while having to earn a living requires extraordinary character. I come from a modest family. We never had any servants in our home. To be able to do all the household chores as well as perform on the professional front just shows how strong a character my mom is made of. She is the strongest person I have ever known in my life. Hell, she is more awesome and cooler than Batman!! There was never a moment in my entire life where she was unavailable for me, whether physically or emotionally, because of her work. She just epitomizes everything a mother stands for. The itinerary of a typical day in my mom’s life during my school days was :-

  • Wake up at 5.
  • Do the household chores of brooming and sweeping.
  • Prepare breakfast for the whole family.
  • Prepare lunch for me and my elder brother.
  • Leave for office till 8:30.
  • Slug it out in the office.
  • Come back home and bring something to eat while coming.
  • Look to it that I sat down to study.
  • Prepare dinner for the whole family.
  • Wash the dishes.
  • Sleep at 11.

Imagine doing this for nearly two decades and you would understand the gravity of the situation. She never had time for herself. Her entire life is dedicated to us. Not once have I felt inferior to other rich kids around me because I was never made to feel the absence of any comfort. Not once have I eaten food from outside during childhood because mom never complained of being too tired to cook. She was always there. Punctual and disciplined. She was always upbeat when it came to us. And just when you thought that her duties might be over, she adds another responsibility upon herself. To look after our grandmother. Though my grandmother doesn’t live with us but my mom looks after her as though she does. The greatest lessons I have learned in my life was through my mom. You can only earn a living through education but how to lead a good life was taught by my mom. She was, is , will be the greatest teacher in my life. She taught me ‘simple living, high thinking‘, ‘People are unkind, be kind anyways‘, ‘there are lots of pains in life, smile anyways‘, ‘sometimes world will seem unjust and tough place, be good anyways‘, ‘people may not help you, help anyways‘. What I am today mom, I am only because of you. You have knowingly or unknowingly always been my pillar of strength. When I look at you I feel so blessed. I couldn’t have asked for more.

You are no ordinary human maa. You were, are and will always be my superhero. There is this title song of the bengali serial we used to watch. It went something like ‘Tomar chada ghoom ashe na Maa‘, which translates to ”without you I am unable to sleep, MOM’. I can’t imagine what I would have done without you maa.

Even if I am able to be half of a person you are maa, I think I would succeed in being your son. Or at least I hope I prove myself worthy of being called ‘your son’. As I conclude with tears slowly rolling down my eyes I have only thing to say to you – ‘I Love You and I see God in you Maa!!’

mm

2 thoughts on “Happy Mother’s Day Maa!!!

Leave a Reply

